Understanding the Doshas

September 13, 2023

Ayurveda states that there are three functional principles in your body know as Doshas

  Vata, Pitta, and Kapha 

 Ayurvedic philosophy speaks to five vital elements:SpaceAirFire WaterEarth

These five elements correlate with three types of energy known as doshas: 

  • Vata
  • Pitta
  • Kapha

In balance, the unique physical traits and emotional tendencies of each dosha are:

  • Vata – energy of movement; light, thin frame, energetic, joyous, quick thinking and communicative
  • Pitta- energy of digestion and metabolism; medium build, light hair and eyes, passionate, intelligent, and courageous
  • Kapha – energy that forms the body’s lubrication and structure; warm of heart and steady of mind, solid, thick/oily skin, steady, motherly, methodical and thoughtful, soft

 While we have an inborn constitution, environmental factors (stress, diet, lifestyle)
 affects the balance of our constitution, as do imbalances.

 Out of balance, each dosha may struggle with:

  • Vata – Anxiety, gas/bloating/constipation, forgetfulness and restlessness
  • Pitta- Irritability or anger, rashes, diarrhea , being critical and controlling
  • Kapha – Depression/anxiety  weight gain, mucous build-up, difficulty waking, complacency

You can learn about your own dosha by taking the ” DOSHA QUIZ ” at the Chopra Centers web site.QUIZ ” at the Chopra Centers web site.IM


Comments Off on Understanding the Doshas